The Daily Item, Sunbury, PA


August 12, 2013

Auto racing: Cannon rolls to seventh Selinsgrove 358 win

By Shawn Wood

For The Daily Item

SELINSGROVE -- Pat Cannon, of Etters, led the final 13 circuits of Saturday night's 358 25-lap sprint car feature at Selinsgrove Speedway to recorded his seventh win of the year.

It was his 47th career sprint car win at the track.

Jessica Anderson, of Berwick, led the first six laps of the race which was slowed by a red flag on lap 2 for a four-car accident in Turn 1 that saw Shannon Fisher flip. All drivers involved were fine.

Bloomsburg's Ryan Kisinger passed polesitter Anderson on the restart on the outside of Turn 2 and began to put some distance between himself and the field.

Cannon, who started 12th, cracked the top five on lap six.

Two laps later, Cannon passed two cars in the same lap to move into the runner-up position.

He came across the stripe on lap 9, trailing Kissinger by 1.8 seconds.

Cannon continued to close in on Kissinger over the next few circuits and caught the leader on lap 11.

The two drivers then exchanged a series of slide jobs for the lead before Cannon took the lead for coming coming off the low side of Turn 4 on lap 12.

While the lead duo was battling for the top spot, Derek Locke and Jason Shultz battled for third from lap 15 on.

In the end, Cannon went uncontested over the final 13 laps for a 4.8-second margin of victory.

Kisinger held on for second while Locke wound up third with Shultz, fourth and Josh Beard fifth.

Sixth though 10th were Larry Kelleher, Cody Keller, Scott Wilson, Duane Mausteller and Nyle Berkes, respectively.

"I was a little worried there, the track had a lot of laps on it before our feature," Cannon said. "We got the set up pretty close tonight. We had some good flat-our racing tonight."

With his win and a fourth-place finish by Shultz, Cannon is the new 358 sprint car points leader by 25 markers.

"Kramer (Williamson) said that he loved this place. I love it too," Cannon added.

Heats for the 22 358 sprint cars were won by Duane Mausteller, Scott Wilson and Keller.

Text Only
The Daily Marquee
National Sports Video
Auto Racing 2014

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.