The Daily Item, Sunbury, PA


April 5, 2014

Danville's Renz, Warrior Run's Shamburg make all-state teams

ALTOONA — Danville’s Amber Renz and Warrior Run’s Steph Shamburg may have done their damage in different ways this season, but the end result was the same  — an all-state nod.

The Danville sophomore, named to the Class AAA second team, built on a breakout freshman season to become Danville’s go-to scorer from the perimeter or driving into the lane, averaging 21.5 points per game. With multiple ways to finish, Renz scored her 1,000th career point in a first-round state tournament loss to Scranton Prep.

With Renz leading the way, the Ironmen finished with 21 wins.

Shamburg caused much of her damage inside, but routinely filled the stat sheet with points, rebounds and assists to help Warrior Run to a 19-win season and an appearance in the first round of the PIAA Class AA tournament in her senior season.

Shamburg was named to the Class AA third team after averaging 15.5 points per game.

While the Valley saw players receive individual accolades, the team hardware can be found a few hours to the west.

Teams from the Western Pennsylvania Interscholastic Athletic League won three of the four PIAA girls basketball championships this year, and southwestern Pennsylvania is turning out to be just as dominant when it comes to postseason honors.

Pittsburgh-area programs produced seven of the eight major award winners on this season’s Sports Writers Pennsylvania High School Girls Basketball All-State Team, including all four players of the year.

The teams and award winners were selected through a poll of statewide media.

Fox Chapel’s Erin Mathias was voted player of the year in Class AAAA in a tight race with Cardinal O’Hara’s Aminah “Mia” Farmer and Spring-Ford’s Sammy Stipa, while Blackhawk junior Chassidy Omogrosso received the honor in Class AAA over fellow underclassmen Kalista Walters of Bethlehem Catholic and Alexis Lewis of Holy Redeemer. Seton-LaSalle’s Naje Gibson and Vincentian’s Brenna Wise had a much more comfortable margin of victory in Class AA and Class A, respectively.

Cumberland Valley’s Bill Wolf (Class AAAA), Blackhawk’s Steve Lodovico (Class AAA), Seton LaSalle’s Spencer Stefko (Class AA) and Vincentian’s Ron Moncrief (Class A) were chosen as the respective coaches of the year in runaway votes. All four guided their teams to state titles.

Although Class AA is the second smallest in the state, a case could be made that the two best teams in the commonwealth were the PIAA finalists in that classification. Competing against Class AAAA and AAA powers in the Philadelphia Catholic League, Neumann-Goretti went unbeaten until it ran into Seton-LaSalle in the state championship game. Seton-LaSalle defeated Class AAA champion Blackhawk and Class A champ Vincentian head-to-head and three of its four losses came to out-of-state opponents.

Those two teams were heavily represented on the all-state team, garnering three selections apiece.

Text Only
The Daily Marquee
National Sports Video
Auto Racing 2014

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.