The Daily Item, Sunbury, PA

June 2, 2013

Motorsports: Ashland's Johnson wins Roadrunner at Selinsgrove

Daily Item

---- — By Shawn Wood

For The Daily Item

SELINSGROVE -- Brian Johnson is finally getting a read on the roadrunner division at Selinsgrove Speedway.

Johnson, of Ashland, scored his division-leading third win of the year when he won the 20-lap roadrunner feature.

Other winners on Saturday night included Pat Cannon, 358 sprint cars; Jeff Rine, late models; and Kyle Bachman, pro stocks.

Johnson, who was runner-up in the final roadrunner point standings last year, took the lead at the drop of the green flag as he, Bob Bussey and John Fowler Jr. made it a three-car battle for the top spot for the first 12 laps when the caution flew for Brandon Shutlz who lost his left wheel and part of his axle.

Bussey, who was second in the points coming into the feature, had a tire go flat while running second on the lap 13 restart. In time trials, he broke his own track record with a lap of 26.150 seconds. Bussey was second in the points coming into the race.

Johnson pulled away from points leader Fowler Jr. on the restart and went on to become the eighth different winner in the eighth edition of the Roadrunner 20.

"We've been racing here for eight years and we're finally getting this Monte Carlo figured out," he said. "We should have won this race a couple of times already. When you start up front and have guys like Bob (Bussey) and John (Fowler Jr.) starting behind you, you better win."

Fowler held on for second with Ricky Bender third, Dustin Snook fourth and Corey Collier fifth.

Sixth through 10th were Butch Shaffer, John Schoch, Bussey, Shultz and Chris Hoffman.

Cannon, who is running a variety of sprint cars this year, scored his division-leading third win of the season, overtaking Sunbury's Mark Smith on lap 17 when Smith got caught up behind lapped traffic entering Turn 1 on the high side, leaving the bottom open for Cannon to make the winning pass.

"He (Mark) got away from us a little bit and we just started chipping away at this lead running the low side of Turns 3 and 4," Cannon said.

Smith, who will be running all four races of the United States Auto Club Eastern Storm series for non-wing sprint cars, took the lead from Scott Wilson on lap 4 of the 25-lap feature.

By lap 7, he had nearly a straightaway lead over Cannon who started ninth.

358 sprint car points leader Jason Shultz was a distant third at the halfway mark.

Cannon cut the lead to less-than-a-second with 10 laps to go and moved in for the lead on lap 17.

It was Cannon's 44th-career sprint car win at the track. The 25-lap feature went non-stop in a time of 8 minutes, 1.963 seconds.

Smith held on for second with Shultz, third while Larry Kelleher and Matt Horst rounded out the top five.

Sixth through 10th were T.J. Stutts, Ryan Kissinger, Nyle Berkes, Colby Womer and Duane Mausteller.

Heat wins for the 19 358 sprint cars went to Wilson and Horst.

In the caution-filled 25-lap late model feature, Jeff Rine of Danville took the lead on lap 13 from Middleburg's Donnie Schick to score his third win of the year and 82nd of his career.

"The track was pretty racey; the top and the middle was there and Schicky was running the bottom, but I ended up getting by him on the bottom for the lead," Rine said.

There was five different lead changes among three different leaders with Schick taking the lead on lap 10 from Chad Davis. He held the led until Rine passed him on the low side of Turn 4 on lap 13.

Schick, a two-time late model track champion pulled into the pits on lap 20 with a right-rear flat tire.

Points leader Dylan Yoder of Selinsgrove brought out the final caution on lap 24 when his slowed on the backstretch with a flat tire and broken rear end.

Bryan Bernheisel was second with Tony Adams, Matt Cochran and Kenny Trevitz rounding out the top five.

Sixth through 10th were Chad Davis, Kyle Rhoads, Jim Yoder, Meade Hahn and Eric Hons.

Heat races for the 20 late models went to Tony Adams and Eric Hons.

Bachman made the winning pass on the inside of Turn 4 on lap 7 of the 15-lap pro stock feature for his fourth win of the the year and 39th of his career.

"The track slicked off for us pretty good and I was just taking my time and we set up for this kind of a track, we put on some new tires and shocks and it worked out good," Bachman said.

Brad Mitch of McClure was second with points leader Troy Miller third, A.J Stoup fourth, and Pete Lauver fifth.

Sixth through 10th were Terry Lauver, Frank Reisser, Jeff Ceballo, Brandon Mosem and Shaun Miller.

Heats for the 12 pro stocks went to A.J. Stroup and Brad Mitch.