The Daily Item, Sunbury, PA


March 18, 2014

H.S. wrestling: Mifflinburg dominates HAC all-star team

Conference honors top grapplers

By The Daily Item

Mifflinburg may have finished third in a crowded top half of the Division I standings, but that didn't stop the Heartland Athletic Conference's coaches from selecting a number of Wildcats to the league's 2013-14 All-Star Team.

Six Mifflinburg (9-9, 5-2 HAC) wrestlers were named to the Division I first team: Sophomore D'Varon Feliciano at 106 pounds, senior Noah Kuba at 126, sophomore Cooper Wagner at 132, senior Logan Stenger at 138, junior Cole Walter at 152, and senior Nazar Mironenko at 285.

Selinsgrove placed three wrestlers on the first team: junior Nathan Bingaman at 170, senior Austin Lewis at 195, and sophomore Andrew Boob at 220.

Division I runner-up Shikellamy (8-10, 6-1) had senior 145-pounder Tristan Paul make the first team, while Midd-West had juniors Corey Stauffer at 113 and Tanner Ebright at 138, and senior Alex Lieberman at 170.

Rounding out the Division I first team were Milton junior Zach Bennett at 145/152 along with senior 170-pounder Ryan Preisch, plus Jersey Shore's Hunter Zondory (106) and Colton Killion (152), and Williamsport's Roshaun Cooley (120).

Jersey Shore's Shawn Weaver was named the HAC-I's Coach of the Year after he led the Bulldogs (14-4, 7-0) to the division title and the District 4 Class AAA crown.

The Division II first team was highlighted by the selection of a pair of Warrior Run wrestlers: junior Eric Hunt at 113 and sophomore Bradly Styer at 120, along with Lewisburg sophomore Brian Friery at 106.

Division II champ Hughesville (17-6, 5-1 HAC) had three on the first team: Devin Stahlnecker (126), Zach Fry (132), Matt Herr (182), while Montoursville had two in Keith Batkowski (132) and Connor Bassett (285) along with Central Columbia's Lewis Williams (126) and Benton's Dominic Vitale (152), Jeric Kasunic (160) and Logan Womelsdorf (195).

Steve Budman is the Division II Coach of the Year for the Spartans.

Division III champ Southern Columbia (14-4, 6-0 HAC) placed four wrestlers on the first team. They were freshman Todd Lane (120), junior Kent Lane (138), sophomore Blake Marks (152), and senior Adam Feudale (220).

Runner-up Muncy had two on the first team -- Jesse Agular (113) and Dakota Nixon (152) -- while Bloomsburg had four -- Sam Miller (145), Brandon Conrad (170), Hunter Thomas (170/182) and Jordan Troup (285).

Montgomery's Kyle Drick (113) and Nick Buckle (126) round out the first team along with South Williamsport's Nate Jones (138/145) and Sullivan County's Tanner McCarty (195).

Jerry Marks was named the Division III Coach of the Year for Southern Columbia.

Text Only
The Daily Marquee
National Sports Video
Auto Racing 2014

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.