The Daily Item, Sunbury, PA

September 29, 2013

Motorsports: Stutts the early leader of National Open

Daily Item

---- — By Shawn Wood

For The Daily Item

SELINSGROVE -- T.J. Stutts, of Liverpool, won the 13th annual 358-360 MACH-1 Chassis National Open at Selinsgrove Speedway after leading through the opening portion on Saturday night.

Stutts, a one-time winner in 358 sprint car action at Selinsgrove, won the event twice previously: the inaugural 358-360 Open in 2001 and then again in 2003.

There were 50 sprint cars on hand for Saturday night's event.

First-round heat winners were Robbie Stillwaggon, Pat Cannon, Stutts, Josh Weller and Blane Heimbach.

Second-round heat winners were Lance Dewease, Dan Mazy, Jason Shultz, Mark Bittner and Dave Ely.

Brent Marks and Mike Walter won the B-Mains.

Brad Mitch raced to his eighth win of the year in caution-filled pro stock 15-lap feature.

Devon Hart was second with Kyle Bachman, Rob Baker and Jamin Chapman rounding out the top five.

Sixth through 10th were A.Y. Schilling, Marc Bitler, Brandon Moser, Pete Lauver and Jim Gerhart.

Heat races for the 24 pro stocks were won by Mitch, Matt Wilson and Bachman.