The Daily Item, Sunbury, PA

June 21, 2013

Motorsports: Selinsgrove titles up for grabs

Daily Item

---- — By Shawn Wood

For The Daily Item

SELINSGROVE -- With a break in the racing action this weekend at the Selinsgrove Speedway for the two-day Pennsylvania Elite Karting event at the fifth-mile Selinsgrove Raceway Park, it's time to take a look back on the racing season to date.

The track has lost three weather-related events this year, the last coming on April 20. The track returns to action next Saturday with the 12th annual Firecracker 30 for the 358 sprint cars.

n 358 sprint cars

Not seeing Pat Cannon's name atop the leader board is like not hearing "Danny Boy" by Bing Crosby on St. Patrick's Day. There are just some things that go hand-in-hand.

For a driver who said he is not racing for the points title this year, the Etters resident leads the division with five wins.

Sitting atop the 358 sprint car leader board is 2004 track champion Jason Shultz, of Carlisle. Shultz had two wins this season, matching his win total during the 2004 championship year.

"We don't worry about points, If you ask top-10 driver in the points, they just want to win," Shultz said. "The only time you think about the points is if it's the last two races of the season and the points are close. It's not in our game plan (to look at the points), we just want to win races."

Shultz holds a 30-point lead over Cannon and finished second to him in last year's point standings. He said consistency has been the key for the team to be in the top-five in the points.

"Whenever you are racing (against) the (No. 3) car, you are doing something right," he said. "That's a super first-class team and they've been at it for a long time. When we you do go by them, you do relish what you did."

Other 358 sprint car winners this year are Eric Tomecek, of Abbottstown, and Sunbury's Mark Smith.

n Late Models

Defending and six-time late model track champion Jeff Rine, of Danville, has an auspicious start to the 2013 season. He spun out on opening night and still managed to finish third. Rine's first win came on May 3 and he has won three times since then, pushing his career total to 83. He's opened a 260-point lead over two-time winner Dylan Yoder of Selinsgrove. Other late model winners were Coleby Frye (2 wins) with single wins going to Jerry Bard, Dan Stone and Jim Bernheisel.

n Pro Stocks

Kyle Bachman, of Selinsgrove, has leapfrogged Shaun Miller, of Tower City, to move into second place in the points standings behind Miller's father, Troy, on the strength of two wins in the last four features. Bachman, second on the all-time pro stock win list with 39, has four wins this season.

S. Miller, Brad Mitch and Nathan Long haveJ two wins each. A.J. Stroup was the latest pro stock feature winner.

n Roadrunners

Two-time defending roadrunner champion Bob Bussey, of Northumberland ,is 80 points behind four-time winner John Fowler Jr., of Montandon, in a tight three-car battle for the title. Bussey and Ashland's Brian Johnson have three wins each. All three drivers have combined to win the 10 roadrunner features to date. Johnson won the Roadrunner 20, the division's' only extra-distance race, on June 1.

n Sprint Cars

The first of four 410 sprint shows at the track was won by Greg Hodnett on March 10. It was Hodnett's 14th win of his career at the track. Brent Marks won his first-ever 410 feature at the speedway when he won the Ray Tilley Classic on May 26. NASCAR Champion Tony Stewart won the 358-360 sprint car challenge on April 6 while Liverpool's T.J. Stutts won the Empire Super Sprints 360 race on May 18. Chad Trout (Super Sportsman) and Mike Wagner II (305) won on May 26,