The Daily Item, Sunbury, PA


April 11, 2013

H.S. girls basketball: HAC all-star teams make up great squads

By The Daily Item

The Heartland Athletic Conference girls basketball all-star teams are just lists of award winners rather than actual squads.

If they were real teams, though, they would be phenomenal.

Take the Division I All-Stars, for example.

The backcourt features Shikellamy senior Alexis Angstadt, the program's sixth 1,000-point scorer, and Danville senior Siobhan Bross, one of the Valley's top defensive players.

The forwards -- Milton senior Emily Baker and Shamokin's pair of senior Kelsey Yacko and junior Liv Bonshock -- are very athletic who score well in the paint and battle on the boards.

Both post players had breakout seasons: Selinsgrove's Laura Long, who averaged 12.7 points in her junior year, and Danville freshman Amber Renz, who averaged 16.6 ppg.

The HAC-I second team includes Midd-West senior Allie Camp and Milton junior Mackenna Miller at the guards, and Danville junior Ericka Heath, Mifflinburg freshman Kayla Kline, and Shikellamy senior Cory Yerger at the forwards.

Think Danville's Steve Moser, the HAC-I Coach of the Year, who won the division and the inaugural HAC Tournament, could make do with that group?

Same goes for HAC-II Coach of the Year Lisa Varano, whose Mount Carmel team scored a three-peat in the division and District 4 Class AA.

Red Tornadoes' Christina Perles, a senior, and Ali Varano, a junior, lead a first team that also includes Lewisburg senior Maria Kelleher, Southern Columbia senior Kayla Lavella and Warrior Run junior Steph Shamburg.

Snipers Kelleher and Lavella each made more than 55 three-pointers; Ali Varano averaged 15 points and 5 steals; and Perles and Shamburg were the division's top double-double threats.

The second team features Warrior Run senior guard Tay Parker, Southern Columbia senior guard Mallory Tomaschik, Lewisburg senior forward Lois Lesher, and Mount Carmel junior forward Ana Raybuck.

Benton's three-time all-state honoree Justine Seely highlights the HAC-III first team. Her coach, Harry Schlichter, is the division's Coach of the Year.

Text Only
The Daily Marquee
National Sports Video
Auto Racing 2014

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.