The Daily Item, Sunbury, PA


July 22, 2013

Motorsports: Zearfoss scores first-ever 358 sprint car win

By Shawn Wood

For The Daily Item

SELINSGROVE -- Brock Zearfoss had been waiting three years to get to victory lane.

He made a daring move to make that dream happen.

After race leader Duane Mausteller, of Bloomsburg, who led the first 20 laps of the 25-lap feature, pulled into the pits with a blown engine on lap 20, Zearfoss went to work on new race leader Josh Beard.

He tracked down Beard following a red-flag period for Scott Wilson and Phil Walter who flipped on lap 20. On lap 21, Zearfoss got a run on the high side of Turn 4 and carried that momentum to the outside of Turn 2 where he passed Beard as the two raced onto the backstretch.

Zearfoss went on to score the win by a straightaway while Beard held off a hard-charging Jason Shutlz at the line for second with Ryan Kissinger fourth and Nyle Berkes, fifth.

"This one is really special and to get it here is something else," Zearfoss said. "We've been trying to get here for three years."

Sixth through 10th were Derek Locke, Derek Steward, Wilson, Johnny Smith and Colby Womer, respectively.

Heats for the 19 358 sprint car were won by Mike Walter, who was scratched from the feature, and Pat Cannon, who slowed on lap 3 of the feature with mechanical issues.

Brad Mitch took the lead from Nathan Long on lap 8 to score the win in the caution-filled pro stock 15-lap feature.

Long finished second followed by A.J. Stroup, Troy Miller and Shaun Miller to round out the top five. Sixth through 10th were Kyle Bachman, Frank Reisser, Rick Bixler, Terry Lauver and Pete Lauver, respectively

Heats for the 19 pro stocks were won by Bachman and Mitch.

Ashland's Brian Johnson held off Northumberland's Bob Bussey for his fourth win this year in the 12-lap roadrunner feature. John Fowler, Brandon Shultz and Butch Shaffer rounded out the top five. Sixth through 10th were Curtis Lawton, John Schoch, Chris Hoffman, Lori Croop and Ricky Buss, respectively.

Heats for the 12 roadrunners were won by Johnson and John Schoch.

The evening's racing was delayed more than an hour due to a rain shower which hit the track at 6:30 p.m.

Text Only
The Daily Marquee
National Sports Video
Auto Racing 2014

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.