The Daily Item, Sunbury, PA


August 16, 2012

Four divisions, five features at Selinsgrove

By Shawn Wood

For The Daily Item

SELINSGROVE -- Selinsgrove Speedway's regular four divisions -- the 358 sprint cars, late models, pro stocks and roadrunners -- will be back at the historic half-mile oval on Saturday.

The 358 sprint cars will compete in a 25-lap main event paying $1,500 to win. In the season standings, former two-time champion Pat Cannon of Etters, a five-time winner this season, holds a 380-point lead over three-time winner and former champion Jason Shultz of Carlisle.

The late models will race in a 25-lap feature paying $1,200 to win. Seven-time champion Jeff Rine of Danville leads the standings by 460 points over Jim Bernheisel of Lebanon, who took over the second position following his fifth-place finish in last Saturday's race.

After a one-week hiatus, the pro stocks return with a 15-lap feature paying $400 to win. Two-time defending champion and four-time winner A.J. Hoffman of Richfield has a 290-point lead over rookie and five-time winner Hayes Mattern.

The roadrunners will compete in two 12-lap features on Saturday, one of which is a makeup event from July 21. Defending champion and seven-time winner Bob Bussey of Northumberland holds a 660-point lead over Curtis Lawton of Danville.

RISING STAR: Austin Dillon, the 22-year-old grandson of legendary NASCAR team owner Richard Childress and Nationwide Series rising star of Lewisville, N.C., is a confirmed entry for the first-ever World of Outlaws late model series race at Selinsgrove Speedway on Aug. 26. Dillon, who clinched the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series Championship last year, will sign autographs at a time to be announced.

The 2012 late model racing season at Selinsgrove has produced eight different winners in 15 races.

THE BIG 3-0: Last Saturday's appearance by the United Racing Company at Selinsgrove Speedway marked the 30th time the series has had a feature at the track that was not a URC-358 sprint car challenge. The 65-year-old traveling series, the oldest traveling sprint car series in the nation, first raced at Selinsgrove on July 4, 1959, with Hank Rogers scoring the win.

Text Only
The Daily Marquee
National Sports Video
Auto Racing 2014

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.