The Daily Item, Sunbury, PA


April 18, 2014

H.S. track and field: Peterson grabs two golds at Breslins

Tigers tie Tornadoes for boys title

By Harold Raker

The Daily Item

MOUNT CARMEL -- Tom Peterson hoped that having sunshine and a tailwind might help him break his personal best time in the 100-meter dash. The Shikellamy senior got his wish and then some.

Peterson, whose previous best in the event was 11.35 seconds, took first place in Thursday night's Breslin Invitational with a clocking of 11.21 seconds. He also anchored the Braves' winning 400-meter relay.

Peterson's goal for the 100 was to equal his previous best.

"I just went out there to try to match my PR, but beating it is even better," he said.

Peterson added, "I was expecting to be able to run better with the sun and the tailwind behind me, but not as well as I did. I was pretty happy to get that."

Peterson scratched from the 200 meters because he injured his ankle.

On the relay, Peterson's team trailed when he took the handoff, but he passed a Pottsville runner and the Braves won with a time of 44.99 seconds to the Crimson Tide's 45.22.

In addition to Peterson, the winning team comprised Ryan Wary, Nate Shrawder and Cale Wary, in that order.

"I couldn't really see the other teams' handoffs but I saw that there were other teams ahead of us and I didn't like that, so I wanted to fix it," Peterson said.

Once he made the pass, he knew it was over.

"Once I got the lead, I was not giving it up," he said.

Mount Carmel and Southern Columbia, rivals in the Heartland Athletic Conference Division II, tied for the team championship in boys Class AA. Pottsville won the AAA title over Selinsgrove.

Winners for the Seals were Austin Lewis, javelin (168-11); and John Daku, shot put (51-1 ½).

Cody Pavlick won the discus (138-3) for Southern and Nate Bartos took the 3,200 for Mount Carmel, in 10:01.70. Mount Carmel won the other two relays. In the 1,600, the team of Treyvon White, Juwon Sullins, David Fletcher and Zeke Zsido won in 3:33.65. In the 3,200, it was Fletcher, Cieran Fisher, Mack Greco and Tommy Moser winning in 8:25.24.

Text Only
The Daily Marquee
National Sports Video
Auto Racing 2014

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.