The Daily Item, Sunbury, PA

February 28, 2014

Basketball: HAC names its 2013-14 all-star teams

By The Daily Item

WILLIAMSPORT — The 2013-14 Heartland Athletic Conference boys and girls basketball seasons featured several breakout performances by Valley teams, and that was evident as the league’s head coaches recently selected their all-star teams.


Shamokin, the Division I champion with a 13-1 record (23-1 overall), had senior forward Austin Stine and sophomore guard Jake Weaver named to the first team.

Upstart Milton also had a pair of first-team selections in junior guard Ethan Baker and senior center Travis Krall; Danville senior guard Zach Kozick and Shikellamy senior guard C.J. Tyler rounded out the Division I first team.

Kozick is the Valley’s fifth-leading scorer with 343 points on the season (14.9 ppg.), while Baker is sixth (342, 14.9 ppg.), Krall is ninth (271, 11.8 ppg.) and Tyler is 11th (255, 11.1 ppg.).

The Division I Coach of the Year honors went to Shamokin’s Chris Zimmerman.

In Division II, champ Loyalsock (23-1, 13-0) and runner-up Lewisburg (21-3, 10-2) both had a pair of first-team selections.

The Green Dragons had senior guard Jesse Flannery and sophomore forward/center Sam Allen named to the team, along with Kyle Datres and Omar Little for the Lancers.

Southern Columbia junior guard Mike Klebon and Central Columbia’s Payton Aucker round out the first team.

Klebon is the Valley’s third-leading scorer (399, 19.0 ppg.) and Allen is fourth (379, 16.5 ppg.).

Loyalsock’s Ron Insinger, who’s in his 40th year as the Lancers coach, was named Division II’s Coach of the Year.


Mifflinburg, a much-improved team than in years previous when the Wildcats went 10-4 (17-5 overall) to finish third in the Division I, placed two girls on the first team — sophomore Kayla Kline and senior Sara Stauffer.

Division champ Danville (20-3, 12-2) had player of the year candidate Amber Renz, a sophomore forward, land on the first team along with Shikellamy junior guard/forward Bernadette Chaney, Shamokin senior guard/forward Liv Bonshock and Jersey Shore’s Paige Packer.

The Division I Coach of the Year honor went to Danville’s Steve Moser.

In Division II, champion Mount Carmel (19-4, 12-2) had senior guard/forward Ali Varano make it onto the first team along with a pair of players — senior forward Steph Shamburg and junior guard Abby Fisher — from runner-up Warrior Run (19-4, 10-4).

Rounding out the Division II first team were Central Columbia junior Lindsey Carl, plus Loyalsock’s Allie Pagana and Montoursville’s Kirsten O’Malley.

The Division II’s Coach of the Year honors went to both Lisa Varano of Mount Carmel and Central Columbia’s James Murtin.