The Daily Item, Sunbury, PA


November 30, 2012

High school cross-country: Valley athletes named to All-Star team

By Brian Holtzapple

For The Daily Item

The Heartland Athletic Conference's coaches recently selected their 2012 All-Star teams, and there weren't many surprises in the honors that were given out.


In Division I, upstart Mifflinburg had two first-team selections -- freshman Quincy Amabile and junior Logan Stenger -- while Selinsgrove and Shikellamy had one selection apiece in freshman Brody Beiler and sophomore Aaron Schaffer-Neitz, respectively.

Williamsport runners Chet Schwoyer and Herb Stelly round out the first team, plus Jeremy Steppe was named Coach of the Year for the division champ Millionaires.

Danville and Lewisburg dominated the Division II All-Star honorees with three selections apiece, along with Mark Sundberg being named Coach of the Year for the division champion Green Dragons.

The Ironmen's first-teamers were juniors Tyler Vella and Alex Mettler plus freshman Joe Malafronte. Named to the first team for the Green Dragons were senior Sean Walker plus juniors Nate Martin and Alden Davidson.

Hughesville's Jay Hiller rounded out the first-team runners.

In Division III, conference champion Mount Carmel had three first-team selections -- senior Justin Skavery, junior Cory Hoffman, freshman Tommy Moser -- along with Ben McConnell of the Red Tornadoes being named Coach of the Year.

The remaining first-team runners for Division III were Southern Columbia junior Andrew Steely, Warrior Run junior Spencer Williamson, South Williamsport's Griffin Molino and Sullivan County's Kelby Mullen.


Selinsgrove ran away with the Division I championship and the Seals had three first-team selections to go along with the title. In addition, Ryan McGuire and Mike Stebila shared Coach of the Year honors for the champs.

Named to the first team for Selinsgrove were seniors Kelsey Ulrich and Victoria Doll, plus junior Brianna Carnathan. Shikellamy had freshman Treicy Cedeno named to the team along with Mifflinburg sophomore Sarah Lemon and Williamsport's Hannah Weber and Sarah Wirth.

Text Only
The Daily Marquee
National Sports Video
Auto Racing 2014

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.