The Daily Item, Sunbury, PA

July 4, 2013

Area motorsports notebook: Firecracker 30, Speedweek Finale at Selinsgrove

Daily Item

---- — By Shawn Wood

For The Daily

SELINSGROVE -- A big weekend of sprint car racing is on tap for Selinsgrove Speedway.

The rescheduled Firecracker 30 for 358 sprint cars is Saturday and the Pennsylvania Sprint Car Speedweek finale is Sunday for the 410 sprint cars.

Both nights get underway at 7:30.

Time trials, heats and B-mains will be used both night for qualifying for the sport cars. The Super Sportsman, which join the racing card on Sunday, will not have time trials.

The Firecracker 30 pays $2,000 to win.

Joining the 358s on Saturday are the late models, roadrunners and the pro stocks, which will have a $500-to-win summer championship.

The track will host a camera and autograph night on Saturday with fans having access to the pits from 5 to 6:30.

On Sunday, the 410 sprint cars will make their third appearance of the season, in the Jan Opperman Memorial 30-lap feature, which pays $5,000 to win. Selinsgrove's 410 sprint car races this season have been won by Greg Hodnett of Thomasville (March 10) and Brent Marks of Myerstown (May 26).

Lance Dewease of Fayetteville is the defending winner of the race.

Chad Trout won the sportsman feature back in May. There have been 10 different sportsman winners this year in 13 events.

WELCOME BACK: Steve Campbell, of Danville, is returning to late model competition at Selinsgrove Speedway beginning on Saturday after splitting with car owner Ed Powell. Campbell has 44 career late model wins and 80 overall wins.

MITCH SMITH: Williams Grove Speedway will host the 25th annual Mitch Smith Memorial for the 410 sprint cars tonight.

The 30-lap feature pays $10,000 to win, the biggest prize money for Speedweek. This is the second night that the speedway is playing host to a Speedweek date. Greg Hodnett won the Speedweek opener on June 28.

Smith, who scored 179 wins in his four-decade career, is best known for beating the United States Auto Club at the track in 1971. Stevie Smith is the defending winner of the race. He also won the first race held in 1989.

SPECIAL BOY: Big Diamond Speedway will host the 33rd running of the Georgie Stevenson Memorial tonight for the 358 Modifieds.

This race is run in memory of Georgie Stevenson who fought a courageous six-year battle with spinal cancer. Stevenson helped raise money for ill children and adults during those years. The 33-lap feature pays $3,300 to win. Rounding out the four-division show are the sportsman modifieds, roadrunners and 600 modifieds.

MEET THE STARS: Port Royal Speedway will have a meet-and-greet for race fans on Saturday from 5:30 to 6:15 with 410 sprint car drivers Mike Wagner, Blane Heimbach, Chad Layton and Dylan Cisney. The speedway hosts round eight of the 2013 Pennsylvania Sprint Car Speedweek for the 410 sprint cars. Also on the card will be the super late models and an enduro dash.