The Daily Item, Sunbury, PA


September 1, 2013

Motorsports: Satterlee scores inaugural World of Outlaw late model win at Selinsgrove


The caution bunched the field and gave Rine the second spot, but he was passed by Coffey on the restart.

Satterlee opened a lead he never relinquished over the final 23 laps. He pulled away to a 2.2-second win over Coffey with Rine holding on for third.

"That was a pretty awesome race," Satterlee said. "I can't thank my crew chief Robbey Allen enough and my dad for helping on the car. What an awesome race track."

Satterlee, 29, captured the 2013 Appalachian Mountain Dirt Late Model Speedweek title back in June over Coffey.

"I knew there were a couple of laps where I was able to hang with Darrel as we were running the same lines," Satterlee said. "I started to use a lower line in lapped traffic, that is how I was able to sneak by him."

Coffey, a two-time Syracuse 200 winner in the big block modifieds, admitted that he had a second-place car on the night.

"The car was great all night and we didn't change much from the start," Coffey said. "We were maybe too tight for me to run the bottom of the track as the top part was very fast. Unless Greg had a problem, we were a second-place car."

Rine, who is on his way to his ninth career late model track title this season, was quite please to finish third.

"I am happy to be standing here right now in third," he said. "To race with these guys is awesome and to finish third is awesome. The racing surface was great' you couldn't have asked for it to be any better."

Series points leader Josh Richards was fourth, while York's Rick Eckert rounded out the top five.

Sixth through 10th were Tim McCreadie, Matt Cocharn, Dan Stone, Shane Clanton and Bryan Bernheisel.

Heat wins for the 35-car field went to Rine, Richards,Satterlee and Coffey. Satterlee established a track record for a 10-lap late model heat with a time of 3 minutes, 20.435 seconds. Twin B-mains were won by Jim Yoder and Jim Bernheisel.

In the caution-filled 15-lap pro stock feature, Nathan Long of Selinsgrove held off Brad Mitch for the win.

Heat for the 18 pro stocks were won by Rob Baker and A.J. Stroup.

Text Only
The Daily Marquee
National Sports Video
Auto Racing 2014

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.