The Daily Item, Sunbury, PA


May 5, 2013

Auto racing: Bachman wins Pro Stock 20

By Shawn Wood

For The Daily Item

SELINSGROVE -- The last time Kyle Bachman won the Pro Stock 20 was 2003.

It was the same year that he won his one and only pro stock division title.

Bachman became the first driver to repeat in pro stock division as he led all 20 laps to score his 37th-career win and his second Pro Stock 20.

Other winners on Saturday night included Eric Tomecek (358 sprints), Jeff Rine (late models) and John Fowler Jr. (roadrunner).

Bachman took the lead on the start as they were three wide with McClure's Brad Mitch and Selinsgrove's Nathan Long battling with Bachman for the lead through Turn 2.

Bachman wrestled the lead off of Turn 2 and held on through three cautions and a red flag over the 20-lap distance.

"I wasn't quite sure if we would ever win another one of these," Bachman said. "We took a few second place finishes over the last few years. The track slicked off and made it even for everybody."

McClure's Brad Mitch pressured Bachman for the lead but slowed on the lap 18 restart.

"I know there wasn't going to be a ton of passing unless they found something on the bottom," he said. "A bigger race like this, a lot of things go through you mind as if you bobble for a second, someone will get by you."

A.J. Stroup flipped on lap 16 between Turns 1 and 2. He was uninjured. The accident collected Hayes Mattern of Beavertown, who set fast time during time trials with a lap of 24.314 seconds.

As Mitch's car slowed, points leader Troy Miller passed him for second with Pete Lauver third, Tommy Slanker, fourth and Mitch holding on for fifth.

Sixth through 10th were Hank Steffen, Nate Stroup, Jeff Ceballo, Jim Payne and Nathan Long, respectively.

Text Only
The Daily Marquee
National Sports Video
Auto Racing 2014

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.