The Daily Item, Sunbury, PA

November 20, 2013

H.S. football: Danville, Southern with plenty of HAC all-star selections

Daily Item

---- — By The Daily Item

Two-way players abound throughout the 2013 Heartland Athletic Conference all-star team, except that wasn't the case for two squads: Danville and Southern.

The Ironmen and Tigers placed the most players on their respective Division I and III teams to lead the all-star selections as picked by the HAC's head coaches.

Danville, which claimed the Division I title with a 5-1 mark (8-2 overall), had tight end Evan Tanner, placekicker Shayne Riley, running backs Sam Dressler and Isaiah Croll, plus lineman Blake Remensnyder named to the offensive first team.

Dressler finished the regular season as the sixth-best rusher from the area (130 carries, 934 yards), while Tanner was seventh in receiving with 26 catches for 470 yards.

Defensively for the Ironmen, linebacker Eric Haney and defensive back Matt Meloy were named to the first team.

Milton had three players occupy two spots apiece on the first team: Greg Schultz at wide receiver/defensive back, Josh Brown at running back/linebacker and Travis Krall on the offensive and defensive lines.

In addition for the Black Panthers, Brady Chappell was the first-team quarterback. Chappell was the area's fifth-best quarterback with 1,299 passing yards (76-of-139 passing).

Selinsgrove sophomore Jack Gaugler was a first-team pick as both an offensive lineman and linebacker; Mifflinburg senior Nazar Mironenko was a first-team pick on both sides of the line and Shamokin's Sean McGlaughlin was a first-team selection at both wide receiver and defensive back.

Other notables to make the Division I first team were Selinsgrove offensive linemen Nick Showers and John Daku, plus Seals defensive lineman Andrew Boob.

The Division I Coach of the Year honors went to Danville's Jim Keiser, who directed the Ironmen to the HAC-I title despite his team suffering many injury issues throughout the season.

In Division II, Mount Carmel and Lewisburg placed a combined nine players on the offensive and defensive first teams.

The Red Tornadoes' offensive first-team selections went to tight end Christian Kelly, wide receiver Trayvon White and lineman Jacob Jones, while the defensive first-team honorees were linebacker Brett Zosh and punter Dominic Farronato.

The Green Dragons who were named to the first team were placekicker Max Reed, plus defensive lineman Austin Steen, linebacker Luke Smith and defensive back Drew Newcomb.

The Division II's Coach of the Year honors went to Montoursville's J.C. Keefer, who led the Warriors to a 4-1 league record (9-1 overall). Loyalsock, however, won the division (7-3, 4-1).

The Lancers had seven players make the first team (4 off., 3 def.). Tops among them was quarterback/defensive back Kyle Datres. The Warriors also put seven players on the first team (3 off., 4 def.), including Cameron Ott at both running back and defensive back.

Southern Columbia had eight players occupy nine spots on the Division III first team (4 off., 5 def.). The Tigers rolled to the conference crown with a 5-0 record (10-0 overall) and coach Jim Roth was named the HAC-III's Coach of the Year.

Senior running back Adam Feudale leads Southern's first-team selections after he finished second in the area in rushing with 1,115 yards on just 99 carries (11.3 avg.).

Joining Feudale on the offensive first team are all linemen: Josh Tripp, Logan Reynolds and Trent Donlan.

The defensive first-team players for Southern are Donlan and Matt Stanziale on the line, plus linebacker Cody Pavlick and defensive backs Luke Rarig and Zach Tillett.

Bloomsburg, which finished third in the division, had four players named to the offensive first team: quarterback Ricky Klingerman, kicker Cade Harmon, wide receiver Colby Klingerman and lineman Derek Sneidman.

The Panthers had an additional four players take up five spots on the defensive first team: lineman Jahvel Hemphill, linebackers Evan Ball and Cole Frye, plus defensive backs Zach Ashford and Colby Klingerman.