The Daily Item, Sunbury, PA


November 20, 2013

H.S. football: Danville, Southern with plenty of HAC all-star selections


In Division II, Mount Carmel and Lewisburg placed a combined nine players on the offensive and defensive first teams.

The Red Tornadoes' offensive first-team selections went to tight end Christian Kelly, wide receiver Trayvon White and lineman Jacob Jones, while the defensive first-team honorees were linebacker Brett Zosh and punter Dominic Farronato.

The Green Dragons who were named to the first team were placekicker Max Reed, plus defensive lineman Austin Steen, linebacker Luke Smith and defensive back Drew Newcomb.

The Division II's Coach of the Year honors went to Montoursville's J.C. Keefer, who led the Warriors to a 4-1 league record (9-1 overall). Loyalsock, however, won the division (7-3, 4-1).

The Lancers had seven players make the first team (4 off., 3 def.). Tops among them was quarterback/defensive back Kyle Datres. The Warriors also put seven players on the first team (3 off., 4 def.), including Cameron Ott at both running back and defensive back.

Southern Columbia had eight players occupy nine spots on the Division III first team (4 off., 5 def.). The Tigers rolled to the conference crown with a 5-0 record (10-0 overall) and coach Jim Roth was named the HAC-III's Coach of the Year.

Senior running back Adam Feudale leads Southern's first-team selections after he finished second in the area in rushing with 1,115 yards on just 99 carries (11.3 avg.).

Joining Feudale on the offensive first team are all linemen: Josh Tripp, Logan Reynolds and Trent Donlan.

The defensive first-team players for Southern are Donlan and Matt Stanziale on the line, plus linebacker Cody Pavlick and defensive backs Luke Rarig and Zach Tillett.

Bloomsburg, which finished third in the division, had four players named to the offensive first team: quarterback Ricky Klingerman, kicker Cade Harmon, wide receiver Colby Klingerman and lineman Derek Sneidman.

The Panthers had an additional four players take up five spots on the defensive first team: lineman Jahvel Hemphill, linebackers Evan Ball and Cole Frye, plus defensive backs Zach Ashford and Colby Klingerman.

Text Only
The Daily Marquee
National Sports Video
Auto Racing 2014

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.