The Daily Item, Sunbury, PA


May 2, 2014

Motorsports notebook: Three State Flyers series coming to Selinsgrove

SELINSGROVE — Selinsgrove Speedway will host the Three State Flyers Late Model Series for the first time in series history on Saturday. The super late models will be joined by the 358-360 sprint cars for a two-division show.

The 35-lap super late model feature pays $3,000 to win. Time trials, heat races, and a B-main will be the qualifying format for the division’s fourth race of the season.

The 2014 11-race schedule for the Three State Flyers series begins tonight at Bedford Speedway. Mark Pettyjohn of Milton, Del., won last year’s series opener at the Winchester Speedway (Va.). He went on to clinch the 2013 title over Jason Covert of York Haven, a three-time series champion.

Covert has one win this year at Potomac Speedway in Maryland, which came on April 4. He won a late model race at Selinsgrove in 2006.

In late model racing this season at the track, three races have produced three different winners. All-time wins leader and defending champion Jeff Rine, of Danville, scored the season-opening win on April 12. Steve Campbell, also of Danville, won on April 19, while Jim Yoder, of Selinsgrove, was last week’s winner.

Three different winners have ushered in the new 360 sprint car era at the track. T.J. Stutts, of Liverpool; Mark Smith, of Sunbury; and Davie Franek, of Wantage, N.J., have taken wins in the division.

NO REPEAT: The Port Royal Speedway season has produced no repeat winners to date in the 410 sprint car and super late model divisions. Blane Heimbach, Rick Lafferty, Dale Blaney and Greg Hodnett have won in the sprint car ranks, while Tim Wilson, Nick Dickson and Brett Schadel have won in the late model ranks. Saturday’s three-division show consists of the 410 sprints, late models and 305 sprints.

OUTLAWS ARE COMING:  The first visit of the season by the World of Outlaws sprint cars is May 16-17 at Williams Grove Speedway. Gerard McIntyer Jr. and Doug Esh are the two winners in 410 competition so far in 2014. The track has lost three nights to rainouts. Tonight, the 358 sprint cars return to action for their second race of the year. Adrian Shaffer was the opening-night winner.

Text Only
The Daily Marquee
National Sports Video
Auto Racing 2014

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.