The Daily Item, Sunbury, PA


March 14, 2014

College wrestling: Huskies send six to NCAA championships

OKLAHOMA CITY — Six Bloomsburg wrestlers will make the trip to the NCAA Division I national championships March 20-22, while Penn State will send 10 wrestlers, highlighted by former Line Mountain state champion and Benton grad Zain Retherford.

Representing the Huskies competing for a national title are Nick Wilcox, Bryce Busler, Josh Veltre, Mike Dessino, Richard Perry and Justin Grant. Each of the six wrestlers finished in the top two in their weight class at the EWL Championships, with Perry winning the 197-pound title. Wilcox, Busler, Veltre, Dessino and Grant all finished second.

The Huskies are sending six wrestlers to the national championship for the second straight year.

Joining Retherford for the Nittany Lions are Nico Megaludis at 125 pounds, Jimmy Gulibon at 133 pounds, James English at 149, Dylan Alton at 157, David Taylor, the top-ranked wrestler in the nation at 165, Matt Brown at 174, Ed Ruth at 184, Morgan McIntosh at 197 and Jon Gingrich at 285.

Retherford has continued to show the talent that he exhibited in high school, entering the national championships at 29-1 on the season, with the freshman ranked third in the nation at 141 pounds. Taylor is undefeated this season at 165 pounds with a 29-0 record.

Penn State won its fourth straight Big Ten title, edging Iowa 140.5-135, with Taylor and Ruth each winning their fourth straight title, while Retherford, Megaludis and McIntosh each reached the final at their respective weight classes.

Text Only
The Daily Marquee
National Sports Video
Auto Racing 2014

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.