The Daily Item, Sunbury, PA

June 13, 2014

H.S. baseball: Jersey Shore leads HAC all-stars

The Daily Item

— Although teams from the likes of Midd-West, Mifflinburg, Milton and Shikellamy tried their best to prevent it from happening, Jersey Shore won the Heartland Athletic Conference-Division I title, and the Bulldogs also had the most first-team selections after the league’s head coaches picked their 2014 All-Star Team.

Jersey Shore — which went on to claim its fourth straight District 4 Class AAA title this season — had the HAC’s Player of the Year in junior Zach Miller. Listed as an infielder/pitcher, Miller was a first-team pick as an outfielder for the Bulldogs.

Midd-West, which finished narrowly behind Jersey Shore in the standings and also in the District 4 Class AAA title game, had senior catcher Luke Zimmerman and senior outfielder Shane Connahan make the first team.

Mifflinburg’s first-team picks were senior pitcher Andrew Leitzel and junior shortstop Brady Lloyd. For Milton, senior pitcher Mark Artley made the first team.

Shikellamy’s first-team member was junior catcher Colby Lahr, while Selinsgrove had senior outfielder Aidan Greak make the first team.

Rounding out the first-team selections were infielder Colton Potter and outfielder Christian Rishel from Jersey Shore; Danville senior infielder Zach Brent, plus Montoursville infielder Andrew Null and utility player Derrick Evans.

The Division I’s Co-Coach of the Year honors went to Midd-West’s Ron Flood and Shikellamy’s Bobby Felmy.

Highlighting the Division II first team was the selection of Lewisburg senior catcher Jacob Girton.

Hughesville’s Casey Waller was the Division II Coach of the Year. The Spartans had five first-team picks.

The Division III first team featured a pair of Southern Columbia players — sophomore shortstop Blake Marks and senior outfielder Mason Peters — as well as Randy Young, who was named the Coach of the Year for the Tigers.