The Daily Item, Sunbury, PA

Breaking News


June 13, 2014

H.S. softball: Mifflinburg well represented in HAC all-stars

With a season that culminated in its first District 4 title in seven years, the 2014 Heartland Athletic Conference -Division I all-star team was littered with Wildcats.

Mifflinburg had all-stars at every position. Named to the first team for the Wildcats were junior catcher Molly Davis, sophomore shortstop Kayla Kline, freshman outfielder Emily Stauffer and senior utility player McKenzie Noll.

Davis led all Valley hitters with 33 RBIs this season, while Kline led the area with 10 doubles and was second in the area with 38 hits and six home runs.

Milton, which won the Division I title, had five first-team selections in senior pitcher Taylor Batman, senior catcher Mackenna Miller, senior shortstop Kiah Brink, junior outfielder Bethany Brennan and junior utility player Bayli Derr.

Miller led the Valley with her 39 hits and 43 runs scored on the year, while Batman ranked third in the area with five home runs and sixth with 29 RBIs.

Rounding out the Division I first team were pitcher Rebecca Caputo, infielders Averie Lorson and Kaitlyn Cower and outfielder Brianna Stetts from Jersey Shore; plus Shamokin infielder Olivia Bonshock and outfielder Jenny Hornberger.

The Division I Coach of the Year was Mifflinburg’s Steve Ross.

The Division II first team was highlighted by Southern Columbia junior infielder Taylor Hoffman, who led the Valley with seven home runs.

Hoffman also finished tied for second in the area with 38 hits, eight doubles, 30 RBIs and tied for third with 26 runs scored for the Tigers in 2014.

Division champ Central Columbia had five players named to the first team: pitcher Paige Siegrist, infielders Kim Hollister and Allison McCracken, and outfielders Rachel Davis and Megan Grozier.

Loyalsock also had five first-team selections: pitcher Kayla Gee, catcher Allison Czap, infielders Ali Pagana and Kendall Watkins, and outfielder Ally Kennedy.

Rounding out the Division II first team were Montoursville catcher Kelsey Stine and South Williamsport outfielder Lizz Cummings.

The Coach of the Year honor went to South Williamsport’s Scott Stugart.

Bloomsburg and Muncy tied for the Division III title, and the Panthers and Indians placed a total of six players on the first team.

Benton’s Lori Neyhard took the Coach of the Year honors.

Text Only
The Daily Marquee
National Sports Video
Auto Racing 2014

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.