The Daily Item, Sunbury, PA

May 31, 2008

High school football: Selinsgrove places six on all-star team

By The Daily Item

SOUTH WILLIAMSPORT -- Powered by eight players from Bloomsburg High School and six from Selinsgrove, the South team will look to defend its title when the 18th installment of the District 4 North-South All-Star game is played in a few weeks.

The game will be played Friday, June 27, at 7 p.m. at South Williamsport High School's Rodney K. Morgans Stadium.

Admission is $5 for adults, $3 for students. The rain date for the game is Saturday, June 28.

In last year's game the South team won 28-12 behind big plays from a couple of former Seals. Running back Matt Cook had a seven-yard receiving touchdown while defensive back Braden Klingler had a 47-yard interception return for a touchdown.

Hoping to make an impact in this year's game for defending District 4 Class AAA champion Selinsgrove are wide receiver/linebacker Bryce Auker, flanker/defensive back Mike Ritter, running back/linebacker/placekicker Tim Walls, running back/linebacker Nate Gingrich, lineman Abe Heggenstaller and lineman Kelvin Womer.

Named to the team for District 4 Class A champion Bloomsburg are quarterback/defensive end Tyler Coombe, lineman Steve Justick, lineman Chris Weigle, split end/safety Chris Sokoloski, lineman Marc Francola, split end/defensive back Mike Tombasco, lineman Mike Schlauch and linebacker Colin Barton.

Line Mountain, which lost to Bloomsburg in this year's district championship game, will be represented by five players while Southern Columbia will have four representatives on the team.

The Eagles selected for the squad are tight end/defensive end Mason Hoover, quarterback Clark Morris, lineman Coty Rosinko, tailback/cornerback Jeremiah Lenker and fullback/linebacker Aaron Scheibelhut.

Led by split end/defensive back Colby Snyder, the three remaining Tigers that will be on the team are tight end Aaron Farnsworth, running back/defensive back Andrew Wimble and lineman Justin Knoebel.

The South team head coach is Bloomsburg assistant coach Fran Romanelli. The assistant coaches are Bloomsburg's Larry Sones and Marc Romanelli, Southern's Jim Roth, Mount Carmel's Mike Brennan and Shikellamy's Marlin Persing.

The North team is coached by Loyalsock's Dick Delaney, with the assistant coaching duties going to Jersey Shore's Steve Eck and Toby Welker, Williamsport's Ben Tallman, North Penn's Bryan Bechdel and South Williamsport's Chris Lusk.

Seven Loyalsock players were named to the North team to lead all schools. The Lancers on the team are Austin Knighton, Steve Dewar, Jesse Eggerton, Rick Hill, Nick Tate, Jamie Van Fleet and Shawn McMahon.