The Daily Item, Sunbury, PA

November 7, 2013

Boys soccer: Lewisburg, Midd-West each have five selected to HAC all-star squad

Daily Item

---- — By The Daily Item

After a perfect regular season for Lewisburg, it was no surprise that the Green Dragons were well represented on the 2013 Heartland Athletic Conference All-Star team, as selected by the conference's head coaches.

Lewisburg had senior Calvin Reif and junior Max Reed selected as first-team forwards in Division I. Senior Bronson Ferster was a first-team midfielder, plus senior Luke Permyashkin and junior Anthony Ortiz were both first-team defenders.

Ferster also was named the Division I's all-state selection. He had nine goals and three assists on the season.

In addition for Lewisburg, coach Skip Kratzer was named the HAC-I's Coach of the Year. He guided the Green Dragons to a 14-0 league record (18-0 overall regular season) in his second year as head coach.

Midd-West, which finished fourth in the division at 10-4, also had five players named to the first team. They were senior forward Ty Ross, senior midfielder Tyler Arbogast, sophomore mid Sebastian Callender, senior defender Trevor Stuck and sophomore defender Devaughn Johns.

Rounding out the HAC-I's first team were Danville junior forward Gage Reber, Danville junior mid Shayne Riley and Shikellamy junior goalkeeper Justin Engle.

In Division II, Warrior Run placed four members of its team on the first team. They were senior forward Elias George, senior mids Alex Wehr and Masen Wagner, plus senior defender Chase Snyder.

George was the HAC-II's all-state selection. This past season he scored an area-best 35 goals and he also had 12 assists, which were good enough for third best in the area.

Central Columbia won the division at 13-0-1, while Warrior Run (10-4) was second and Montoursville (9-5) was third.

Named to the first team for the Blue Jays were junior forward Nick Gaydos, senior mid Tristan Snyder and senior defender Chris Brunozzi. The Warriors had junior back Nick Russo and senior goalkeeper Sawyer Bressler make the first team.

Rounding out the first team were Loyalsock juniors Matt Hibbs and Josiah Covert at forward and midfield, respectively, plus Jersey Shore juniors Clay Newton at forward and Carter Kaufman as a defender.

Montoursville coach Rich Marriot was named the Division I's Coach of the Year.

The HAC-III's first team was highlighted by Southern Columbia junior forward Seth Joseph.

League champ Bloomsburg (18-0, 16-0 HAC) had five of its players named to the first team, as well as coach Mike McGarry named the Coach of the Year.

Senior defender Dakota Rosenberg of South Williamsport was the division's all-state selection.