The Daily Item, Sunbury, PA

High School Sports

April 2, 2013

H.S. wrestling: Mifflinburg dominates HAC-I all-stars

Mifflinburg was unable to defend its Heartland Athletic Conference-Division I wrestling championship this past season, but five Wildcats did earn spots on the annual HAC-I All-Star first team, as selected by the coaches.

The teams for all three divisions were announced Tuesday.

Mifflinburg is represented on the HAC-I first team by Noah Kuba, at 113 pounds; Cooper Wagner, 113/120; Cole Walter, 132; Ty Walter, 160/170; and Nazar Mironenko, 285.

Surprising Midd-West placed four on the first-team. They are Corey Stauffer, 106; Zach Heeter, 145; Alex Lieberman, 160/170; and Zach Longacre, 195/220.

The coach of the year honor went to Shawn Weaver of the division champion Jersey Shore Bulldogs.

Other Valley wrestlers named to the first-team were, from Milton, two-time 195-pound Class AA state champion Ryan Solomon, and Ryan Preisch, 152/160; and, from Shikellamy, John Rohrbach, 160; Jesse Shambach, 182; and Dwayne Pepper, 195.

The top two teams in the HAC-II standings, champion Central Columbia and runner-up Benton, dominated the first-team selections in that division, with five selections each. Warrior Run also had four and Lewisburg two on the first squad.

Central’s first-teamers were Taylor Johnson, 113; Jesse Shannon, 132; Aaron Johnson, 145; Eric McCracken, 220; and Alex Shiber, 285. From Benton, the list comprises state champions Zain Retherford, 138; and Colt Cotton , 145; along with Matt Welliver, 120; Colt Cotten, 145; Jeric Kasunic, 160; and Logan Womelsdorf, 182.

The Warrior Run wrestlers on the team are Zack LeBarron, 106; Eric Hunt, 113; Brian LeBarron, 126; Brandon Giannantonio, 132; and Austin Fiedler, 285. Lewisburg is represented by Max Reed, 160; and Brandon Smith, 220.

Longtime Central coach Todd Cummings was named the division Coach of the Year.

Although champion Muncy dominated the first-team choices in HAC-III and its coach, Denny Harer, was named Coach of the Year, a rejuvenated Southern Columbia squad had four wrestlers named to the first team. They were Brett Shepard, 120; Kent Lane, 126; Blake Marks, 152; and Jake Becker, 220.

Text Only
High School Sports
The Daily Marquee
National Sports Video

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide