The Daily Item, Sunbury, PA

April 2, 2013

H.S. wrestling: Mifflinburg dominates HAC-I all-stars

The Daily Item

— Mifflinburg was unable to defend its Heartland Athletic Conference-Division I wrestling championship this past season, but five Wildcats did earn spots on the annual HAC-I All-Star first team, as selected by the coaches.

The teams for all three divisions were announced Tuesday.

Mifflinburg is represented on the HAC-I first team by Noah Kuba, at 113 pounds; Cooper Wagner, 113/120; Cole Walter, 132; Ty Walter, 160/170; and Nazar Mironenko, 285.

Surprising Midd-West placed four on the first-team. They are Corey Stauffer, 106; Zach Heeter, 145; Alex Lieberman, 160/170; and Zach Longacre, 195/220.

The coach of the year honor went to Shawn Weaver of the division champion Jersey Shore Bulldogs.

Other Valley wrestlers named to the first-team were, from Milton, two-time 195-pound Class AA state champion Ryan Solomon, and Ryan Preisch, 152/160; and, from Shikellamy, John Rohrbach, 160; Jesse Shambach, 182; and Dwayne Pepper, 195.

The top two teams in the HAC-II standings, champion Central Columbia and runner-up Benton, dominated the first-team selections in that division, with five selections each. Warrior Run also had four and Lewisburg two on the first squad.

Central’s first-teamers were Taylor Johnson, 113; Jesse Shannon, 132; Aaron Johnson, 145; Eric McCracken, 220; and Alex Shiber, 285. From Benton, the list comprises state champions Zain Retherford, 138; and Colt Cotton , 145; along with Matt Welliver, 120; Colt Cotten, 145; Jeric Kasunic, 160; and Logan Womelsdorf, 182.

The Warrior Run wrestlers on the team are Zack LeBarron, 106; Eric Hunt, 113; Brian LeBarron, 126; Brandon Giannantonio, 132; and Austin Fiedler, 285. Lewisburg is represented by Max Reed, 160; and Brandon Smith, 220.

Longtime Central coach Todd Cummings was named the division Coach of the Year.

Although champion Muncy dominated the first-team choices in HAC-III and its coach, Denny Harer, was named Coach of the Year, a rejuvenated Southern Columbia squad had four wrestlers named to the first team. They were Brett Shepard, 120; Kent Lane, 126; Blake Marks, 152; and Jake Becker, 220.