The Daily Item, Sunbury, PA

September 30, 2011

Motorsports: Late model open wraps up 2011 Selinsgrove season

By Shawn Wood
For The Daily Item

— SELINSGROVE — The 66th season of racing at Selinsgrove Speedway will come to an end on Oct. 8 with the twice-postponed 13th annual Late Model Open.

The late model division's marquee event pays $5,000 to win the 30-lap feature. The race will be an open tire event for the late models. The qualifying format will include time trials, heats and a B-main. The pro stocks and roadrunners will also be on the racing card.

Chris Shuey of Orefield won the inaugural Late Model Open in 1999 followed by a win in the 2001 race. Jeff Rine of Danville is the only four-time winner of the race, having won the Open in 2005, 2006, 2008 and 2009.

Other past winners of the Open were Kenny Pettyjohn of Millsboro, Del. (2000); Dale Kerstetter of Liverpool (2002); Jeff Smith of Blain (2003); Scott Haus of Hamburg (2004); and Nick Dickson of Lewistown (2007).

In last year's Open, Dan Stone of Thompson, won the event for the first time in a dominating performance.

FLEA MARKET: Port Royal Speedway and the Juniata County Fairgrounds will hold a racecar flea market, fall craft show and chicken barbecue on Saturday, Nov. 12 from 9 a.m. to 2 p.m. For setup and registration information, contact Heidi Kauffman at (717) 363-0236. The annual speedway awards banquet will be held on Saturday, Jan. 28, 2012, at the Port Royal Community Building. Tickets will go on sale in November along with 2012 season passes. The track is hoping to get more clay on the speedway, if all goes well, by the end of October.

FLEA MARKET II: The Dauntless Hook & Ladder Fire Company of Selinsgrove will hold the annual motorsports flea market on the speedway grounds beginning at 7 a.m. Saturday, Oct. 29.

The 11th annual Selinsgrove Speedway & Raceway Park awards banquet is scheduled for Saturday, Nov. 12, at the Sheraton Harrisburg-Hershey Hotel. Banquet tickets can be purchased in the track office on race nights.