The Daily Item, Sunbury, PA

January 22, 2014

Outgoing Geisinger authority chairman honored

By Robert Stoneback
The Daily Item

— DANVILLE – Local and state representatives gathered to honor the retiring chairman of the Geisinger Authority for his 36 years of service to the group.

H. James Shutt joined the authority in 1976, shortly after its formation the previous year by the Montour County commissioners. He then served as chairman for 25 consecutive years, taking part in bond issues involving groups such as Maria Joseph Manor, Geisinger Medical Center and the Danville Child Development Center. While Shutt is stepping down as chairman, he will continue to serve on the authority.

Colleagues and well-wishers took time before the authority’s Jan. 22 meeting to give Shutt their regards. Rep. Kurt Masser gave Shutt a citation from Pennsylvania’s House of Representatives which thanked Shutt for his years of service to the community.

Montour County commissioner Trevor Finn gave Shutt a plaque on behalf of the commissioners which commended him for his “distinguished and unselfish service.”

Shutt was also thanked by the Geisinger Health System Foundation Board of Directors for “leading the financing of Geisinger projects that have advanced health care for residents of Montour County and other counties that Geisinger serves.”

Shutt’s fellow authority members also praised him.

Member Connie Kuziak called him dependable and dedicated, and that Shutt will be an invaluable resource for the next chairman. “I’m glad he’s going to stay,” she said.

Frank Trembulak, executive vice president and chief operating officer for Geisinger Health System, said that Shutt’s meticulous focus will set a standard for authority leaders to follow.

After the accolades, the authority held a reorganizational meeting where assistant treasurer John Metzer was unanimously named the new chairman. Shutt was unanimously named to fill Metzer’s old position as assistant treasurer.

“I won’t be here for 25 years,” Metzer said with a laugh upon his election.


Email comments to