The Daily Item, Sunbury, PA

The Valley

June 10, 2014

Dale/Engle/Walker House Open June 15

— LEWISBURG — The Dale/Engle/Walker House will be open for tours on Sunday, June 15 from 2 to 4 p.m. House tours starts at 2 p.m. with the last tour at 3:30. Visitors can also see the wagon shed filled with local horse-drawn vehicles and tools that were typically stored in such a building explained in interpretive panels,  and hear interesting audios done by a member of the Engle family.  

An exhibit of Union County tools used or made by Union County blacksmiths, tinsmiths and roofers, wooden pump borers, plane makers, quiltmakers, dressmakers and grist miller operators — among others — has been assembled for the public.

A second exhibit focuses on learning — formally at school; by example as in traditions like apple butter making, butchering, and barn raising; or alone, by oneself through media — are featured at the 1793 Dale/Engle/Walker House. One-room schools were scattered through out the county, roughly two miles apart, and there were larger institutions such as the Union Seminary, later called Central College in New Berlin and Bucknell University in Lewisburg.

The property is located on 1471 Strawbridge Road, 1.5 miles west on Route 192. The property is also the site of the Dale’s Ridge Trail that is operated by the Merrill W. Linn Land & Waterways Conservancy. For further information, call the Society office at (570) 524-8666 or


Text Only
Photo Galleries