The Daily Item, Sunbury, PA

June 20, 2013

Tri, Tri Again Triathlon results

The Daily Item

— MIFFLINBURG — Thirty-two individual competitors and 10 teams from various regions of Pennsylvania, New Jersey, Ohio and Virginia competed in the Tri, Tri Again triathlon on June 15. During the three-hour time span, participants completed as many loops as possible. Each loop consisted of a 2.25 mile run, 2.25 mile mountain bike, and 150 yard swim. Despite a bear sighting near the start of the race, the competition went smoothly.

Mathew Russell completed the fastest individual loop for the males with a time of 34:39, and Larie Hall for the females with a time of 46:06. For the most completed loops in the individual category for males, Mattew Russell took first place with five loops in 3:09:05, Ian King second with five loops in 3:19:15, and Mark Himelfarb in third with five loops in 3:21:24. Larie Hall took first place in the female category with four loops completed in 3:16:55, Amy Kratzer took second with four loops in 3:50:03, and Michelle Rudy took third with three loops in 2:58:55.

Katiera Carey, Randy Carey, and George Schneider won the award for the fastest team loop with a time of 35:39.  This team also took first place for the most completed loops, finishing five in 3:10:22. Quincy Amabile, Alex Haines, and Sam Payson took second place with five loops completed in 3:16:16. And in third place, with five loops completed in 3:27:21, there was Steve Romano and Jeff Becker.

Joseph Leiter (11 years) was honored with the youngest male finisher of at least one complete loop, and Laila Hosni (12 years) received this award for the female category.

The Bloodiest Award in the male category goes to Gabe DeFacis, who tripped over some rocks while completing the trail run, and received some cuts and abrasions on his lower back. The Bloodiest Award in the female category goes to Amy Kratzer, who suffered a minor ankle sprain during the trail run.

Proceeds from Tri, Tri Again benefit both Kelsey’s Dream and the Mike Hobbins’ Recovery Fund.