The Daily Item, Sunbury, PA

March 14, 2013

Mifflinburg FFA chapter parent and member banquet

The Daily Item

— MIFFLINBURG — The Mifflinburg FFA Chapter celebrated its 83rd anniversary at the annual parent and member banquet held at the Mifflinburg Area High School. Approximately, 350 guests, members, and parents attended the program. Chapter vice president Sara Moyer served as the toastmaster for the evening program, while other members made the presentations. Pennsylvania FFA president, Casey Shawver was the guest speaker for the program.

Ashley Confer, Shawnee Chappell, Jessica Kaler, Amanda Klauger-Boob and Sara Moyer, were acknowledged for obtaining the Keystone FFA Degree. The Keystone Degree is the highest award that can be presented to a member at the state level. The members received their degrees during the Pennsylvania FFA Mid-Winter Convention in Harrisburg in January.

The first place Pennsylvania FFA Safety Bowl Team of Trevor Clouser, Ashley Confer, Olivia Dietrich, and Blair Digan were honored for their outstanding performance at the Pennsylvania Farm Show.

Catrina Bollinger, Ashley Confer, and Sara Moyer, were presented the Roberta Ann Walter Scholarship by Doug Walter of Lewisburg. The $1,000 scholarship will be used for the girls to further their education.

Dwight Orndorf, of Hoover Tractor and Dennis Boop were awarded the Honorary Chapter FFA Degree. Hoover Tractor loans a tractor to the FFA to teach tractor driving and backhoe operation. They loan equipment to the ag department for tractor driving contests. They provide equipment for assembly by the ag mechanics students. Boop is a graduate of the program and serves on the ag department advisory board. As fair president, Boop is chairing the group that is building a new show arena that the students will appreciate during the fair. He supports many FFA activities whenever he is asked.

The Star Greenhand Plaque was presented to first year FFA member Brent Mabus, son of Brian and Jennifer Mabus, of Millmont. The Star Chapter Awards are presented to second year members. This year Megan Kaler was named the Star Chapter Farmer. She is the daughter of Alan and Crystal Kaler, of Millmont. Trevor Clouser was named the Star Agri-businessman. He is the son of Andy and Daphne Clouser, of Millmont.

Scholarship awards were presented to members meeting the chapter criteria. Members earning the award were Catrina Bollinger, Taylor Boney, Randall Brininger, Katelyn Brouse, Amy Chappell, Trevor Clouser, Ashley Confer, Patrick Crissman, Rebecca Darrup, Olivia Dietrich, Blair Digan, Hailee Hanselman, Emily Hess, Jessica Kaler, Christian Kurtz, Shane Moyer, Amanda Klauger-Boob, Sara Moyer, and Tiffany Shaffer

Catrina Bollinger and Sara Moyer were honored with a plaque for their hard work of meeting the chapter scholarship criteria for all four years of his education at Mifflinburg High School.

Trophies were presented to the winners from the SUN Area FFA SAE Records contest. Those earning blue awards and trophies were Catrina A. Bollinger, Douglas R. Boop, Amy L. Chappell, Shawnee N. Chappell, Trevor M. Clouser, Ashley M. Confer, Olivia M. Dietrich, Dawn M. Franck, Brittani N. Hook, Jessica L. Kaler, Megan D. Kaler, Amanda L. Klauger-Boob, Sara E. Moyer, Tiffany A. Shaffer, and April D. Zechman. Any member earning a blue or red award at the area level with their SAE Records was eligible to send up to two sets of records to the state SAE Contest which was in State College in February. Ashley Confer had the best SAE book from Union County. She will be presented a check for $50 from the Pennsylvania FFA Association for her outstanding records.

Approximately 60 percent of the records entered at the state level were given medals. Members earning medals with their projects at the state competition were:

Gold medals: Catrina Bollinger, employment; Amy Chappell, rabbit breeding; Trevor Clouser, home improvement; Ashley Confer, employment and practicum skills; Jessica Kaler, dairy-beef

Silver medals: Catrina Bollinger, beef finishing; Amy Chappell, swine finishing; Shawnee Chappell, swine finishing; Olivia Dietrich, swine finishing; Dawn Franck, rabbit production; Brittani Hook, beef finishing and sheep finishing; Jessica Kaler, beef Finishing; Megan Kaler, beef breeding and pleasure horse; Amanda Klauger-Boob, employment

Bronze medals: Doug Boop, soybeans and dairy herd; Olivia Dietrich, swine finishing; Dawn Franck, beef breeding

The largest group of awards to be presented during the evening was the chapter proficiency awards that are supplied by the National FFA Foundation. The proficiency areas are listed with the members earning the awards. They are as follows: poultry production, Elizabeth Barben; diversified livestock production, Catrina Bollinger; fiber and/or oil crop production, Doug Boop; swine production, Amy Chappell; food science and technology, Shawnee Chappell; home and/or community development, Trevor Clouser; agricultural sales, Ashley Confer; agricultural mechanics repair and maintenance, Patrick Crissman; equine Science, Rebecca Darrup; landscape management, Donald Dehaven; sheep Production- Olivia Dietrich; Agricultural Communications-Blair Digan; Diversified Agriculture Production- Dawn Franck; beef production, Jamie Gessner; agricultural sales, Chase Girvin; goat production, Emily Hess; beef production, Brittani Hook; dairy production, Jessica Kaler; specialty animal production, Megan Kaler; agricultural processing, Braden Keefer; agricultural services, Steve Keister; agricultural education, Amanda Klauger-Boob; diversified horticulture, Kiana Knarr; swine production, Christian Kurtz; agriscience research, animals systems, Sara Moyer; specialty crop production, Shane Moyer; nursery operations, Aaron Murray; turf grass management, Latasha Newcomer; outdoor recreation, April Zechman.

The retiring officer team of president Ashley Confer, vice president Sara Moyer, secretary April Zechman, treasurer Douglas Boop, reporter Olivia Dietrich, sentinel Amanda Klauger-Boob, chaplain Donald Dehaven, and student advisor Catrina Bollinger were honored with retiring officer plaques. The new officer team of president Olivia Dietrich, vice president April Zechman, secretary Brittani Hook, treasurer Blair Digan, reporter Shane Moyer, sentinel Trevor Clouser, chaplain Donald Dehaven, and student advisor Amy Chappell were installed at the end of the banquet.  Lindsay Spurrier and Charles Kessler serve as the chapter advisors.