The Daily Item, Sunbury, PA

July 1, 2013

Awards presented to Valley's Young Americans

The Daily Item

— SELINSGROVE — On May 15, 84 high school seniors from 11 area school districts were recognized for being chosen as Young Americans for the 2012-2013 school year by the Greater Susquehanna Valley Chamber of Commerce.

The night was opened by Charlie Ross, chamber president and CEO, who performed an exercise with seven Young Americans to show the characteristics of a Young American. Angela Hummel, chair of the Young Americans Committee then connected business and education as Wood-Mode, Inc., the premier sponsor of the Young Americans Banquet, was introduced.

The two keynote speakers were Judith and Aaron White, a mother-son combo, both past Young Americans from Line Mountain High School. They spoke on success and how that translates differently from person to person, while sharing personal stories of what success means to them.

With the help of administrators from each school district as well as the plaque sponsors, Susquehanna University and MedExpress Urgent Care, 84 students were honored with a plaque for their achievement as a Young American. Two Young Americans also received a $500 scholarship award for being chosen as the winners of the Young Americans Scholarship Essay contest. The winners were Michael Rocci and Benjamin Fait ,of Danville Area High School.

The night was brought to a close with a brand new award created by the Business and Education Committee of GSVCC, known as the Excellence in Education — Educator of the Year Award. Throughout the 2012-2013 school year, eight teachers were nominated for their hard work and dedication for the Excellence in Education Award. From those eight recipients, Nicole Varano-Delgado was chosen as the Excellence in Education — Educator of the Year.

Banquet sponsors were — premier sponsor: Wood-Mode, Inc.; partnering sponsors: The Northumberland National Bank, Practical Business Solutions, Central Susquehanna Intermediate Unit and North Shore Railroad; plaque sponsors: Susquehanna University and MedExpress Urgent Care; reception sponsor: Penn State Williamsport Center; Educator of the Year award sponsors: Selinsgrove Area School District and MePush, Inc.