MIDDLEBURG — The Midd-West High School jazz ensemble and concert band presented their annual spring concert recently. Both groups received a standing ovation for their efforts. Before their final selection, the band awards were presented.

Marching band awards went to Tara Lash for loyalty and leadership and Mike Flood for loyalty and performance. The musical "pit" orchestra award was earned by Olivia Hunter; the jazz music award was presented to Jordan Shaffer; and the outstanding improvement awards were presented to Katie Hetrick, Natalie Arencibia, Jeanette Blank, Amber Ebright, Anna Rittmiller, Kayla Wilson and Samantha Yoder.

Outstanding achievement awards went to Elizabeth Spickler, Marissa Spigelmyer, Sarah Grace Beall-Ellersieck, Aaron Bowersox, Kayla Broschart, Dan Brill, Taylor Furgison, Carly Kuhns and Krista Mull.

The outstanding senior instrumentalist awards went to Heather Hunsberger and Seth Beech. The Ward B. Haines Award was presented to Danielle Foor, and the John Phillip Sousa Band Award was presented to Jeffrey Seebold.

Two representatives from the Marine Corps presented awards to Heather Hunsberger and Seth Beech.

The band members and music boosters presented Thomas Burns with several gifts as well as their great memories and wishes for a happy retirement. Thomas Wagner, president of the local chapter of Pennsylvania Association of School Retirees, presented Burns with the 2008 Lauretta Woodson Award, an outstanding teacher award for Snyder County, in recognition of unselfish dedication and exemplary service to the Midd-West School District.

Recommended for you